This is a daily prompt response.

I was planning to edit my latest effort tonight.  I had great ideas in my brain-dome, I was going to come home, eat my tea and settle in for a night of productive editing.  Oh yes, I was going to get back into preparing it for publication with a grand night of literary hard work.  There was going to be snacks, a refreshing beverage and plenty of music to keep me motivated as went about the process of tidying up this bad boy for release.

I made a critical error, some might say an unforced error that didn’t even require the benefit of hindsight to avoid.  What was this error, I hear you ask?

It’s quite simple really, I went on the internet.  Now I know what you’re thinking.  You’re thinking ‘But Tom, the internet has a lot on it.  What were you thinking you fool?’  Well I should think it’s blatantly apparent that I wasn’t thinking, at all.

Something a rather wise individual said was recently quoted to me:

The Internet contains everything in the whole wide world ever. I don’t know about you, but I find everything in the whole wide world ever to be a bit distracting.

Dave Gorman

Well I was reading an article on the news whilst on my lunch today about the Dunkirk evacuation.  I’m aware of the facts behind it, but this didn’t stop me from going to the Wikipedia article about it when I got home.  This then led to the Wikipedia article about the Battle of France, followed by the article about the 1940 armistice and then the one about Vichy France.  Before I knew it, it was turned nine o’clock and the chapter I wanted to edit was too long for me to finish before I went to bed.

Was it folly to go the internet instead of getting to editing straight away?

Well yes, of course it was.  But I think the true folly would be taking responsibility for this myself, when it would be easier to blame the internet and by extension of that, Wikipedia.

