Well it’s done now.

I left my old job of eleven years on Friday, it did not go as planned.  I had always imagined my last day in that office to go something like this.  I was going to finish my last piece of work and then having managed to negotiate my last day I would leap out of the window, fireworks erupting all over the show as I cartwheeled off across the carpark to the train station and home.  I jest of course, but my last day was going to be something like that.

Not so.

I had asked my good friend Zog to not make a fuss on my last day, not to do a collection as is customary for someone leaving there so I could avoid a last-minute presentation as everyone gathered around to wish me farewell.  If truth be told, the nature of my job didn’t give me the impression that I would be popular enough to pull together much more than £5.  Despite that I suspected shenanigans, so I got in mind what I was going to say if it came to it, I’m manly enough to not get emotional I thought.

Zog had, as it quickly became apparent, pulled a fast one and collected some money together.  People started gathering around my desk, a fair few people it had to be said.  A short presentation from Zog later and it was my turn, I opened the card first, this was a mistake.  In the card, which was plastered with signatures from people wishing me well was a wedge of cash to the tune of £100.  It didn’t take long for my usual stoic façade to start to crumble, though it was nice it wasn’t the amount of money that got me, it was the gesture.

All I had to do was hold it together long enough to give a short speech and that was it, I failed.  To say I fluffed my lines would be an understatement, everything I had planned to say disappeared out of my head the moment I opened the card.  I mumbled a few words about much appreciated what they’d done and that sort of thing.  Frankly, I couldn’t tell you exactly what I said, my focus was to get through it without breaking my cool manly exterior.  I don’t think I succeeded on that front, based on how much my hands were shaking and how little I remembered I can say with certainty I didn’t in fact.

What’s the point of this blog post, if truth be told I’m not sure it has any deeper meaning.  I just thought it was a tremendous act of kindness from my former work colleagues that should be mentioned.  They are a tremendous bunch of people and I will always cherish my time with them.

In short, I love you guys, you’re awesome and your immense generosity never ceases to amaze me.  Stay awesome my friends.

