Audio Books

I like to read.

Not endlessly, I know people who never stop reading, they’ve always got a book on the go and the thought of having nothing to read gives them palpitations.  I’m more of a binge reader, I’ve discussed this before so I’ll not linger on this subject.

The point of this blog post is this, I recently discovered audio books.  Now I know what you’re thinking, you’re thinking that audio books have been around for years and I can’t have been unaware of their existence until now.  Well you would be right, I knew of them, I just never really had the drive to listen to one until recently.  So, in what was a somewhat spontaneous move, I decided to sign up on Audible and take in my first audio book.

But what audio book should I read was the question?

I gave this a great deal of thought.  Should I go for something contemporary, fantasy fiction or maybe something a little older, indeed a classic.  Firstly, with it having recently been the twentieth anniversary of the release of the first Harry Potter book I considered that.  Then there was a couple of medieval fiction books and fantasy books, the names of which escape me right now.  My final option was something I have tried to read before but never managed to make serious headway into, Sherlock Holmes.

I decided on the latter, mainly because it was the definitive collection, which weighed in at seventy-one hours long and was narrated by Stephen Fry to boot.  I am currently listening to A Study in Scarlet and must admit, I’m jolly well enjoying it.

The point of all this?

If you have ever wanted to take in a story but have struggled to digest the book, then I would recommend an audio book.  For people such as I who don’t have the greatest attention span, a good audio book, well narrated may well be the answer to your literary woes.

Peace out folks, and have a lovely day.

Leave a Reply

